A service from
www.luxor-westbank.com


    Deutsche Version

 

Karnak Temple

Luxor Temple

Luxor Museum

Mummification
Museum

Shopping

Hotels

Restaurants

Stories

Market Place

 

 
 

 

 


Archaeologists narrate

Every Saturday starting at 7 p.m. there is something like a magazine circle in the Mummification Museum in Luxor. But nobody will read fairytails from 1001 nights. Archaeologists and egyptologists give one hour lectures in English language and mostly with photographs to explain their work. It is a good and rare chance to get to know these information on good authorities.

"We like to change the museum to something like a well-known cultural center," Dr Holeil Ghaly says. Since May 2003 he is the Director of Luxor and Upper Egypt Antiquities. The father of two children, born in 1948, has a lot of experiences in arranging events like this. From 1996 to 1998 the egyptologist as the former Director of the Mubarak Library in Cairo was arranging seminars, concerts, art exhibitions, discussion boards, lectures and so on. So nobody is wondering that he started together with Mohamed Yakia Ewada (Director of the Mummification Museum) a project based on his long experiences.

The concept is like this: During the digging season in wintertime international archaelogists and egyptologists give lectures by explaining their work. Sometimes by chance other foreign guests in Luxor are invited to give lectures in other interesting subjects.

In wintertime lectures starte on sundays 7 p.m.

Location: Mummification Museum, Corniche El Nil, Luxor, close to the public ferry boat in front of the "Mina Palace" hotel, free entry.

Updated: 12th of December, 2006

top

       printer version

Ein Service von
www.luxor-westbank.com


    English Version

 

Karnak-Tempel

Luxor-Tempel

Luxor-Museum

Mumifizierungs-Museum

Bazar

Hotels

Restaurants

Stories

Marktplatz

 

 
 

 

 


Archäologen erzählen

Jeden Sonnabend um 19 Uhr ist Lesestunde im Mumifizierungs-Museum von Luxor. Aber es werden keine Märchen aus 1001 Nacht vorgelesen. Archäologen und Ägyptologen geben in einem einstündigen Vortrag in englischer Sprache und überwiegend mit Fotos Einblicke in ihre aktuelle Arbeit. Eine seltene Gelegenheit Informationen aus erster Hand zu bekommen.

"Wir wollen das Museum zu einer Art Kultur-Zentrum machen", sagt Dr. Holeil Ghaly (Foto rechts), seit Mai 2003 Chef der Antiken-Verwaltung für Luxor und Oberägypten. Der im November 1948 geborene Familienvater hat Erfahrung in der Organisation solcher Veranstaltungen. Von 1996 bis 1998 war der Ägyptologe Direktor der Mubarak-Bibliothek in Kairo, organisierte dort Seminare, Konzerte, Ausstellungen, Diskussions-Runden, Lesungen. Kein Wunder, dass er in Luxor gemeinsam mit Mohamed Yakia Ewada (Direktor des Mumifizierungs-Museums) ein ähnliches Konzept verwirklicht hat.

Das sieht so aus: Während der Grabungs-Saison im Winter halten internationale Archäologen und Ägyptologen Vortrage über ihre Arbeit. Ab und zu bekommen auch andere ausländische Gäste Luxors Gelegenheit, weitere interessante Themen vorzustellen.

In der Wintersaison finden Vorträge jeweils sonntags um 19.00 Uhr statt.

Veranstaltungsort: Mumifizierungs-Museum, Corniche El Nil, Luxor, neben der öffentlichen Fähre gegenüber dem Hotel "Mina Palace", Eintritt frei..

Aktualisiert: 13. 12. 2006

top

      Druckversion