A service from
www.luxor-westbank.com


    Deutsche Version

 

Karnak Temple

Luxor Temple

Luxor Museum

Mummification
Museum

Shopping

Hotels

Restaurants

Stories

Market Place

 

 
 

 

 



Karnak – the particular temple experience

"Iput-Isut", the most respected one of all sites, the ancient Egyptian called the holy complex of Karnak (picture top: view to the temple area from the roof of the temple of Chons). The history of the construction started during the 11th dynasty (ca. 2134–1999 B.C.), continued until the Roman times. More than 13. centuries the kings built up the biggest temple complex of the country. Dedicated to Amon, the god of the gods, for every ruler as a devine king it was a heavenly duty, to add a building, to immortalize himself by carving his glorious deeds on pylones and columns. The most famous names of all the "architects": the kings with the names Amenhotep, Thotmes, Rameses and Setoy, but also Akhenaton, Hatshepsut and Tut-ankh-amon belong to this list of constructors. Follow us for a very small roundtrip, just by following the temple's main route.

After passing the small alley of the ram-headed sphinxes, today you enter the complex through the first pylon (actually it is the last, because youngest of a total of ten of this giant portales). Anyhow, the gate from the 30th dynasty (380–343 B.C.), is seized 113 metres width and 44 metres hight, but not finished. This pylon is followed by the great court including two smaller shrines built during the reign of Setoy II. (ca. 1291–1278 B.C.) and Rameses III. (ca. 1182–1151 B.C.) to honor the trinity of the Theban gods Amon, Mut and Chons. Two more attractions of the vestibule: one remaining 21 metre high column of former ten, erected by king Taharqa (ca. 690–664 B.C.), and the colossi statue of Pinodjem (picture right), usurped by Rameses II. (ca. 1279–1212 B.C.).

Passing the second pylon you enter the great temple of Amon. Again and again breath-taking the "heart" of the complex: the columned hall, worth to be added in the list of the world wonders. Out of a total area of 104 by 52 metres 134 pillars decorated from top to bottom with hieroglyphes ordered in 16 rows are "growing" up to 23 metres high up into the Egyptian sky (picture right in the middle, picture bottom: capitals of pillars showing some details). In ancient times this forest of columns carried the temples roof. Built under Setoy I. (ca 1291-1278 B.C.) still today it reminds you in a swamp of papyrus. Reliefs on the outer walls give us reports of battles and its hardearned victories by the pharaohs Setoy I. and Rameses II.

Behind the third (Amenhotep III.) and fourth pylon (Thotmes I.) two obeliskes made of red granit will catch your eyes attention. Queen Hatshepsut gave order to erect these "sky needles" (picture right down), but it was her successor Thotmes III. who ordered to wall the obeliskes in. After this attraction you reach the holy of the holies, where in former times the holy barque of the god Amon had its place. Beside south the water of the large sacred lake up to now shimmers in the sun, but has no more a connection to the river Nile. Behind raising up seats for the "Sound & Light Show", every night celebrated in different languages (see the current timetable below).

With this short description we lead you through the main axis up to the sanctuary and the sacred lake only. Bacause it is really impossible to give you in short words information about all the temples area. Our advise for you: take your time when visiting Karnak, do your own discovery trip and also have a look to the small chapels and temples north and south of the main route. And for every return to Luxor put one day for Karnak in your schedule. Because with every visit to Karnak you are going to discover something new . After all more than 100 Hektar land is covered by pylons and colossi, sphinxes and obeliskes, temples and chapels. And still nowadays Egyptologists from all over the world carry on by researching, digging, restoring. Always they will surprise you with some new findings.

Some of the new "treasures" in the temple complex of Karnak are the temple of Chons (picture below left: wall painting with offering scene of Rameses III.) in the southern part and the "Red Chapel" of queen Hatshepsut in the open-air museum in the north, that is worth a visit, even it needs an extra ticket.

For those with enough time a visit to the temple of Muth (outside the temple's walls in the south) is recommended. And/or who is trained in walking can follow the ancient alley of the sphinxes, starting from the southern gate and leading up to the Luxor temple. For the time beeing archaeologists continue to digg out the huge figures, which lined up the around five kilometres long ancient connection between the two temples, that leads you through densely built-up living areas of the city of Luxor. Some of the sphinxes are in a very good shape. And if you are talented in imagination you nearly can see, hear and feel the glory of the festivals, when the barque of Amon in a procession was carried from the sacred place Karnak to his "southern house", the Luxor-Tempel.

It doesn't matter if it is the first or umpteenth visit, if you stay long or short time: the temples, chapels, pylons, obeliskes, sphinxes, reliefs and wall paintings will touch everybodies feelings, will ask you to come back (Text and Fotos Antje Sliwka)

 

 


Opening hours:

winter 6 a.m. until 5 p.m.
Ticket prices:
temple complex 50 LE, open-air museum additional 25 LE
for students 25 LE and 15 LE


Sound & Light Show Karnak (updated Febuary 2007):
ticket price 55 LE

 
6.30 p.m.  
7.45 p.m.
9.00 p.m.
Monday  English French Spanish
Tuesday  Japanese  English Russian
Wednesday German English French
Thursday English  French Arabic
Friday English French Russian
Saturday French English
Sunday German English Italian

top

       printer version

Ein Service von
www.luxor-westbank.com


    English Version

 

Karnak-Tempel

Luxor-Tempel

Luxor-Museum

Mumifizierungs-Museum

Bazar

Hotels

Restaurants

Stories

Marktplatz

 

 
 

 

 



Karnak – das besondere Tempel-Erlebnis

"Iput-Isut", die angesehensten aller Stätten, lautete der altägyptische Name des heiligen Komplexes von Karnak (Foto oben: Blick auf die Anlage vom Dach des Chons-Tempels). Die Baugeschichte beginnt in der 11. Dynastie (ca. 2134–1999 v. Chr.), reicht bis in die römische Zeit hinein. Über 13. Jahrhunderte bauten die Könige an der größten Tempel-Anlage des Landes. Dem Reichsgott Amun geweiht, sah es jeder Herrscher als Teil seiner göttlichen Pflichten an, ein Bauwerk hinzuzufügen, auf Pylonen und Säulen seine Ruhmes-Taten zu verewigen. Bekannteste Namen der vielen "Bauherren": Die Reihe der Könige mit den Namen Amenhotep, Thutmosis, Ramses und Setoy, aber auch Echnaton, Hatschepsut und Tut-ench-Amun gehören dazu. Machen Sie mit uns einen Rundgang, aber nur einen ganz kleinen über die Hauptachse.

Nach dem Passieren der kleinen Widder-Sphingen-Allee betritt man heute die Anlage durch den ersten Pylon (eigentlich der letzte, weil jüngste, von insgesamt zehn dieser mächtigen Portale). Das 113 Meter breite und 44 Meter hohe Portal aus der 30. Dynastie (380–343 v. Chr.) wurde allerdings nicht mehr fertiggestellt. Es folgt der große Vorhof mit zwei kleineren Heiligtümern, errichtet von Setoy II. (ca. 1291–1278 v. Chr.) und Ramses III. (ca. 1182–1151 v. Chr.) zu Ehren der thebanischen Götter-Triade Amun, Mut und Chons. Zwei weitere Attraktionen des Vorhofes: Eine der von König Taharqa (ca. 690–664 v. Chr.) errichteten, einst zehn 21 Meter hohen Säulen und die von Ramses II. (ca. 1279–1212 v. Chr.) usurpierte Kolossal-Statue des Pinodjem (Foto rechts).

Durch den zweiten Pylon betritt man den großen Amun-Tempel. Atemberaubend immer wieder das "Herz" der Anlage: Der große Säulensaal, eigentlich wert, in die Liste der Weltwunder aufgenommen zu werden. Auf einer Fläche von insgesamt 104 x 52 Metern "wachsen" in 16 Reihen 134 über und über mit Hieroglyphen verzierte Säulen bis zu 23 Meter hoch in den ägyptischen Himmel (Foto rechts Mitte, Foto ganz unten Säulen-Kapitelle mit Details ). Einst trug dieser Säulenwald das Tempeldach. Erbaut unter Setoy I. (etwa 1291-1278 v. Chr.) erinnert er noch heute an einen Papyrus-Sumpf. Die Reliefs der Außenwände berichten von den erfolgreich geschlagenen Schlachten unter Setoy I. und Ramses II.

Hinter dem dritten (Amenhotep III.) und vierten Pylon (Thutmosis I.) ziehen zwei Obelisken aus Rosengranit die Blicke auf sich. Königing Hatschepsut ließ die "Himmelsnadeln" errichten (Foto rechts unten), erst ihr Nachfolger Thutmosis III. ließ sie einmauern. Danach erreicht man das Allerheiligste, in dem einst die heilige Barke des Reichsgottes Amun ihren Platz hatte. Südlich daneben glänzt noch heute der große Heilige See in der Sonne, der einst einen Verbindungskanal zum Nil hatte. Dahinter wurden die Zuschauertribünen für die allabendlich in verschiedenen Sprachen zelebrierte "Sound & Light Show" (siehe Tabelle unten) aufgebaut.

Mit dieser Kurzbeschreibung führen wir Sie lediglich über die Hauptachse bis zum Sanktuar und Heiligen See. Denn es ist unmöglich, in Kürze Informationen über den Gesamtkomplex zusammenzustellen. Unser Tipp: Nehmen Sie sich viel Zeit für Karnak, gehen Sie auf Entdeckungstour und schauen Sie sich auch die kleinen Kapellen und Tempel nördlich und südlich der Hauptachse an. Und planen Sie bei jedem Luxor-Urlaub einen Karnak-Tag ein. Denn bei jedem Besuch entdeckt man in Karnak garantiert noch etwas Neues. Schließlich sind über 100 Hektar mit Pylonen und Kolossal-Statuen, Sphinx-Alleen und Obelisken, Tempeln und Kapellen bedeckt. Und noch immer forschen, graben, restaurieren hier Ägyptologen aus aller Welt, die mit Ihren Funden auch immer wieder mit Überraschungen aufwarten.

Zu den neueren "Schätzen" im Karnak-Tempel-Komplex gehören der Chons-Tempel (Foto unten links: Wandrelief mit opferndem Ramses III.) im südlichen Teil der Anlage und die "Rote Kapelle" der Königin Hatschepsut im nördlich angrenzenden Open-air-Museum, das trotz zusätzlicher Eintrittskarte unbedingt einen Besuch wert ist.

Wer Zeit und Lust hat, sollte dem außerhalb des eigentlichen Tempel-Komplexes liegenden Muth-Tempel einen Besuch abstatten, oder/und wer gut zu Fuß ist, vom südlichen Tor aus der Sphinx-Allee bis zum Luxor-Tempel folgen. Archäologen sind zur Zeit dabei, die verschütteten Figuren dieser antiken, etwa fünf Kilometer langen Verbindungsstrasse zwischen den beiden Tempeln auszugraben, die heute durch dicht bebautes Wohngebiet führt. Einige davon sind trotz der dichten Besiedlung noch erstaunlich gut erhalten. Mit etwas Phantasie kann man sich vorstellen, wie die Prozessionen, vom Volk bejubelt, an Festtagen einst vom Heiligtum Karnak zum "südlichen Haus des Gottes Amun", dem Luxor-Tempel pilgerten.

Ganz gleich ob Sie zum ersten oder xten Mal, nur kurz oder lange nach Karnak kommen: Die Tempel, Kapellen, Pylone, Obelisken, Sphingen, Reliefs und Wandmalereien lassen niemanden unberührt, fordern zum Wiederkommen auf. (Text und Fotos Antje Sliwka)

 

 


Öffnungszeiten:

Winter 06.00 bis 17.00 Uhr
Eintrittspreise:
Tempel-Komplex 50 LE, Open-air-Museum zusätzlich 25 LE
für Studenten 50 bzw. 15 LE


Sound & Light Show Karnak (aktualisiert Februar 2007):
Eintrittspreis 55 LE

Wann in welcher Sprache
 
18.30  
19.45
21.00
Montag  Englisch  Französisch Spanisch
Dienstag  Japanisch Englisch Russisch
Mittwoch  Deutsch Englisch Französisch
Donnerstag Englisch  Französisch Arabisch
Freitag  Englisch Französisch Russisch
Sonnabend  Französisch Englisch
Sonntag  Deutsch Englisch Italienisch

top

      Druckversion