Luxor-Westbank


 

 

 

 

West Bank Stories

Fear in Ramlah

In February/March 2004 many houses were demolished in Ramlah, a newly built part of the village El Gezira. There was a decree from Prime Minister Dr.Atef Ebeid: the houses in Ramlah are built illegal, have to be removed.There is still fear in Ramlah, even there is given a breather to theinhabitants. (March 2003)

 

Following the marathon: The West Bank soon a training camp for inline skater?

The idea was born when the 10th Luxor Marathon was finished. For the second time also German inline skater took part. And Hanspeter Detmer, chairman of the club "Kölner Roll-Möpse" from Cologne, started to think about organizing a training camp on the West Bank when in Europe winter stops training. "It should be possible to create a camp together with the local authorities", the sports editor of the Deutsche Welle said. Back in Germany he will start to work out his idea. It could be a pilot project for the West Bank and bring the idea coming to Luxor also to athlets from other sports. (March 2003)

 

Gliding across history

Gliding with an airy giant Do you want the West Bank of Luxor and all its monuments at one blow? Like to to have a bird's-eye view of the sites - very calmly, without pushing and shovingund, without long lectures? Then you should make your decision to try out a ride by hot-air balloon. (January 2003)

 

Ramadan and the "battle of dates"

Ramadan, the holy month of the Muslims, shows every year some curiosities. This year there starts a strong "battle" around the dried dates - with names out of the daily news headlines. (November 2002)

 

After its rediscovery Egypts papyrus became famous all over the world

Everybody knows what is papyrus. Nearly every tourist for sure will have one of this painted sheets as a souvenir in his luggage when travelling back home from Egypt. But did you know who brought this ancient art of producing papyrus back to Egypt? Read our story "Papyrus - worshiped, forgotten, rediscovered". (Up-date February 2004)

 

Vendetta - but tourists are safe

In the small villages in Upper Egypt vendetta still exists. Normally it's a private feud, mostly there are only single victims. But in the latest family war 22 people were shot to death. A massacre that made headlines all around the world. Nevertheless tourists are safe. Because: "Al Tar - a fatal question of honour". (November 2002)

 

Sometimes a market day also is a barber day

Always and everywhere markets are fascinating and attractive. A feast for all senses, a meeting point for people. And sometimes a haircut belongs to the visit of a market. At least in El Qurna, especially for donkeys. (October 2002)

 

Egyptian secrets

Again and again the discussion subjects on the West Bank circle around secret knowledge about antiquities and discoveries, around old stories with super deals. But also around contradictions of dates and confusions with names of the kings. We like to tell you in our story how we handle such topics. (Up-date June 2003)

 

Four-legged trip to the monuments

Why not do it like the ancient Egyptians? Why not travel by donkey to the monuments? It it easy and beside you will have much fun. We tried it out. You can read about it in the story "From sun rays and neddies". (Up-date April 2003)

Luxor-Westbank

 

 

 

 

 

West Bank Stories

In Ramlah geht die Angst um

Im Februar/März 2004 wurden in Ramlah, einem neu entstandenen Teil des Dorfes El Gezira, viele Häusern am Nil abgebrochen. Es gab einen Erlass des Ministerpräsidenten Dr. Atef Ebeid: Die Häuser in Ramlah sind illegal gebaut, müssen abgerissen werden. Die Angst in Ramlah geht immer noch um, auch wenn es offensichtlich eine Atempause gibt. (März 2003)

 

Die West Bank nach dem Marathon: Bald ein Trainings-Quartier für Inline-Skater?

Die Idee wurde am Rande des 10. Luxor Marathon geboren, an dem zum zweiten Mal auch deutsche Inline-Skater teilnahmen. Hanspeter Detmer, Vorsitzender des Klubs "Kölner Roll-Möpse", entwickelte die Idee eines Traingslagers für Skater auf der West Bank, wenn in Europa noch Winter herrscht. "In Zusammenarbeit mit den hiesigen Behörden müßte so etwas machbar sein", sagte der Sportredakteur der Deutschen Welle. Und will sich intensiv um die Umsetzung kümmern. Für die West Bank wäre so etwas ein Modell-Projekt, das vielleicht von anderen Ausdauer-Sportlern übernommen werden könnte. (März 2003)

 

Schweben über der Vergangenheit

Sie möchten die West Bank von Luxor mit ihren Monumenten auf einen Streich? Die Sehenswürdigkeiten aus der Vogel-Perspektive betrachten, in aller Ruhe, ohne Gedränge und lange Vorträge? Dann sollten Sie sich einmal für einen Ausflug im Heißluft-Ballon entscheiden. (Januar 2003)

 

Ramadan und die "Dattel-Schlacht"

Ramadan, der heilige Fastenmonat der Moslems, bringt alle Jahre wieder auch Kuriositäten. In diesem Jahr gibt es eine heiße "Schlacht" um die getrockneten Datteln - mit brandaktuellen Namen. (November 2002)

 

Nach der Wiederentdeckung wurde Ägyptens Papyrus weltberühmt

Jeder weiß, was Papyrus ist. Wohl jeder Ägypten-Tourist hat auf der Rückreise garantiert ein bemaltes Blatt als Souvenir in seinem Gepäck. Aber wussten Sie, wer die alte Kunst der Papyrus-Herstellung nach Ägypten zurückbrachte? Lesen Sie unsere Geschichte "Papyrus - vergöttert, vergessen, wiederentdeckt". (Up-date Februar 2004)

 

Blutrache - keine Gefahr für Touristen

Vendetta, Blutrache, sie existiert in Ober-Ägypten immer noch. Eigentlich fordert sie immer nur einzelne Opfer. Aber nachdem zuletzt 22 Menschen bei einer Familien-Fehde ermordet wurden, herrscht große Aufregung. Jedoch für Touristen besteht keine Gefahr. Alles ist "Al Tar - tödliche Frage der Ehre". (November 2002)

 

Manchmal ist der Markttag auch Frisör-Tag

Märkte sind immer und überall faszinierend und attraktiv. Ein Fest für die Sinne, ein Treffpunkt der Menschen. Und manchmal gehört auch ein Haarschnitt zum Markt-Besuch. Zumindest in El Qurna und vor allem für Esel. (Oktober 2002)

 

Ägyptische Geheimnisse

Bei vielen Diskussionen auf der West Bank geht es immer wieder um heimliches Wissen über Antiquitäten und Funde, alte Geschichten über Super-Deals. Aber auch um Ungereimtheiten von Jahreszahlen und Verwirrungen bei Königs-Namen. Wie wir es damit halten, können Sie in dieser West Bank Story nachlesen. (Up-date Juni 2003)

 

Auf vier Beinen zu den Monumenten

Machen Sie es doch einmal wie die alten Ägypter: Reisen Sie per Esel zu den Monumenten. Das macht Spaß und ist ganz einfach. Wir haben es ausprobiert. Lesen Sie die Geschichte "Von Sonnenstrahlen und Langohren". (Up-date April 2003)