Luxor-Westbank


 

 

 

 
Usefull advises for the West Bank
Everybody who doesn't come to the West Bank as a package tourist only, who will not just get through his sightseeings, who likes to spend some relaxing days in one of the small hotels or in a rented apartment will notice, that particulary in the villages the rhythm of the daily life is very different. Different to that in the cities, but also different to the so called civilized, means the western world. The normal life of the villagers mostly is directed by the seasonal temperature and of course by the Islamic rituals as there are the daily five praying times and the religious feasts. Foreigners have to learn to put up with it.

In the winter months one has the impression that the shops are open all around the clock. But this will change drastically during the hot summer months. In that time all kind of shopping or business dealings will be done in the cooler hours of the day, either in the early morning or after sunset. Nearly all shop owners will close their roll front doors during the heat of the day, will go for a long siesta in their cooler houses or in the shadow of walls and trees (see pictures taken in August 2002). The real life will be shifted to the evening and night hours, the missing sleep they will have by their afternoon nap.

Even unusual as the flexible opening hours of the shops are the consulting hours of the medical doctors. Or can you imagine that any European dentist will ask you to visit him for a regular checkup at eleven o'clock in the night? But of course also therefore there is a plausible explanation. Mostly the doctors are working during daytime in one of the numerous public hospitals, run their private clinics at night. By the way: You can trust the doctors and their standard of education.

In our section "Services" everybody has the possibility to announce his offers. We hope that this section will become something like a directory, where you can find useful and up-to-date information for your orientation in touristic and daily life. A guide for foreigners who like to stay just for some days or a longer period on the West Bank. Down you find an index in alphabetical order.

Bus Service

Egyptian-Arabic Language Courses

Guides

Historical photographs on CD

Information for Tourists

Laywers

Taxi

Trips

Printer version

Luxor-Westbank

 

 

 

 

 
Praktische Tipps für die West Bank
Wer nicht als Pauschal-Tourist lediglich sein Besichtigungs-Programm auf der West Bank absolviert, wer ein paar Tage in einem der kleinen Hotels oder in einem Appartement lebt, der wird merken, dass gerade in den Dörfern die Uhren etwas anders ticken. Anders als in den großen Städten Ägyptens, vor allem aber anders als in der sogenannten zivilisierten Welt. Das Alltagsleben richtet sich in erster Linie nach den jahreszeitlich bedingten Temperaturen und natürlich nach den islamischen Ritualen wie beispielsweise den Gebetszeiten und Feiertagen. Für Ausländer sicher etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig.

Hat man in den Winter-Monaten das Gefühl, dass die Geschäfte nahezu rund um die Uhr geöffnet sind, so ändert sich das drastisch während der heißen Sommermonate. Dann werden Einkäufe und Besorgungen in den kühleren Stunden des Tages erledigt, entweder am frühen Morgen oder nach Sonnenuntergang. Fast alle Laden-Besitzer ziehen während der Tageshitze ihre Rolläden herunter, nutzen diese Zeit für die ausgiebige Siesta entweder in den kühleren Häusern oder im Schatten von Mauern oder Bäumen. Denn das Leben verlagert sich in die Abend- und Nachtstunden, der fehlende Schlaf wird eben am Tage nachgeholt (das illustrieren unsere im August 2002 aufgenommenen Fotos).

Genauso ungewöhnlich wie die flexiblen Öffnungszeiten der Geschäfte sind die Sprechstunden der Ärzte. Oder können Sie sich vorstellen, in Europa einen ganz normalen Zahnarzt-Termin nachts um elf Uhr zu bekommen? Auch dafür gibt es natürlich eine plausible Erklärung: Die meisten Ärzte arbeiten tagsüber in einem der kleinen Krankenhäuser, betreiben ihre Privat-Praxen daher am Abend. Übrigens: Den Ärzten und dem medizinischen Standard können Sie durchaus vertrauen.

Unsere Service-Rubrik, in der jeder seine Dienste offerieren kann, soll sich zu einer Art kleinem Branchen-Verzeichnis

entwickeln, in dem Sie Orientierungshilfen und nützliche Informationen finden. Unser Ziel ist der Aufbau eines Ratgebers des touristischen und alltäglichen Lebens für Ausländer (Stichworte in alphabetischer Reihenfolge).

Ägyptisch-Arabisch-Sprachkurse

Anwälte

Bus Service

Guides

Historische Fotos auf CD

Information für Touristen

Taxi

Touren

Druckversion